Education Britain Summit 2016 connects top UK leaders from across the nations

Education Britain Summit  – 6th July 2016

This landmark event was the fourth major Education Summit that the Education Foundation has run. Nicky Morgan MP, Secretary of State for Education at the Department for Education will keynote at the event which will bring together educators from across England and the UK. It will provide an opportunity to hear from inspirational leaders, educators and politicians who are transforming the education system across Britain.

We were very pleased to have the Department for Education, Education Scotland, Department of Education Northern Ireland are partners and the TES are our exclusive media partner for the Education Britain Summit 2016.

The INVITATION ONLY summit celebrated the existing achievements of great educators across sectors, share views of the new policy landscape and inspire participants to deliver change on the ground. A unique element of the event was the mix of policy makers, top education and business leaders. The summit also focuses on the future of education reform in the UK and shares priorities for government and policy makers.


Key speakers and contributors at the Education Britain Summit included:

  • Nicky Morgan MP Secretary of State for Schools, Department for Education
  • Dr Mary Hoey Assistant Director Inclusion,  Education Scotland
  • Tim Leunig Chief Analyst & Chief Scientific Adviser, Department for Education
  • Tim Coulson Regional Schools Commissioner, Department for Education
  • Professor Tony Gallagher School of Education, Queens University Belfast
  • Carolyn Robeson  Vice Chair, Teaching Schools Council
  • Vic Goddard  Principal, Passmores Academy
  • Christine Hodgson Chair, Careers Enterprise Company
  • Hamid Patel CEO, Tauheedul Education Trust
  • Sherry Coutu CBE Chair, Founders4Schools & Scale Up Institute
  • Alice Barnard CEO, Edge Foundation
  • Catherine Knivett Principal Policy Officer Digital Skills, Greater London Authority
  • Martyn Oliver CEO, Outwood Grange Academies Trust
  • Lesley Powell Shotton Hall Academy, NE Learning Trust
  • Mike Tonge Executive Head of Prestolee Primary School, Greater Manchester Teaching Schools Group
  • Pippa Dodgson Principal, Hall Cross Academy
  • Andrew Morrish CEO, Victoria Park Academies Trust
  • Margaret Mulholland Director of Development & Research, Swiss Cottage Special School
  • Andy Brown Headteacher, West View Primary School, Hartlepool & Member, Tees Valley Challenge Board
  • Julie Robinson General Secretary, Independent Schools Council
  • Jenny Smith Headteacher, Frederick Bremer School
  • Joy Ballard Principal, Ryde Academy
  • Ann Mroz  Editor, Times Education Supplement
  • Professor David Reynolds School of Education, University of Swansea
  • Bob Paton CBE Managing Director, Accenture
  • Neil Carberry Director for Employment & Skills, CBI
  • Debbie Stanley Head of HR Services, Browne Jacobson
  • John Hall Deputy Chair of Grants, Sir John Cass’s Foundation
  • Ash Merchant Head of Education, Fujitsu
  • Neil Gaydon President & CEO, SMART Technologies
  • Simon Hay Founding Partner, Firefly
  • Chair: Ty Goddard, Co-founder, The Education Foundation