Education Reformers of the Year 2012

Education Reformers of the Year

We are proud at the end of our first year of work at The Education Foundation to recognise the achievements of a cross sector, nationwide group of practitioners in schools, colleges and universities who have brought about the most change in their sector and beyond in 2012.

* Sally Coates, Principal, Burlington Danes Academy, London

For leadership in disadvantaged areas and as chair of the Teaching Standards Review Group

* Ty Golding, Headteacher, Barry island Primary School & Janet Hayward, Headteacher, Cadoxton Primary school, Vale of Glamorgan

For pioneering new approaches to technology and for their engagement in the Welsh Government Digital Classroom review

* Sir William Atkinson, Executive Headteacher, Phoenix Canberra Schools Federation

For leadership in disadvantaged areas and a lifetime commitment to education and learning

* David Carter, CEO, Cabot Learning Federation, Bristol

For collaboration across structures of schools, innovation in pedagogy and improving achievement

* Hugh Howe CBE, Principal, Beauchamp College, Leicester

For the creation of a dynamic learning environment and leadership in the college and the local community

* Lynn Watson, Headteacher, Percy Hedley School, Newcastle upon Tyne

For board membership of Schools North East and contribution to the Early Years Foundation Stage Review

* Greg Martin, Principal, Durand Academy, London

For an entrepreneurial approach to leadership and the development of the first state, non fee paying, boarding school

* John McNerney, Head of St. Peter’s Secondary School, Manchester

For strong leadership in secondary education and an inspiring approach to the future of education in Manchester

* Andrea Hemmens and John Butcher, Headteacher & Director of Campus, Wood View Learning Community, Plymouth

For the creation and development of a new model, cross phase campus with inclusive learning at its heart

* Dr Anthony Seldon, Master, Wellington College, Berkshire

For tireless leadership of the connections between independent schools and the state sector and the formation of the Festival of Education

* Fintan O’Donohue, Principal and CEO, North Hertfordshire College and Dick Palmer, Group CEO, Transforming Education in Norfolk; Co-founders, The Gazelle Group

For pioneering work on the future of further education colleges in the UK and globally

* Asha Khemka OBE, Principal and CEO, Vision West Nottinghamshire

For leadership in the further education and business sector

* Jim Wade, Principal, JCB Academy, Staffordshire

For the development of one of England’s first University Technical Colleges and its focus on improving the links between business and education

* Professor Janet Beer, Vice Chancellor, Oxford Brookes University

For a solutions-based approach to the debate about higher education and leadership of the University Alliance

* Tony Gallagher, Pro Vice Chancellor, Queens University Belfast

For a commitment to dialogue and debate on the future of education and learning in Northern Ireland

* Leslie Evans, Director General, Learning and Justice, Scottish Government (Honorary Award)

For leadership in education and learning and driving reform in Scotland’s education system

* Sarah Sands and campaigns team, Evening Standard (Honorary Award)

For their work on pioneering media campaigns in London – Get London Reading and Ladder to the Top

Ty Goddard, Co-founder of the Education Foundation said of our inaugural list of the top education reformers in the UK:

“The Education Reformers of the Year 2012 list celebrates the people who are looking at fundamentally changing the way education and learning is being delivered in their communities. There are education reformers in every school, college and university across the country who are trying new ways to teach and motivate young people. Often too, these reformers look beyond old structures and create new partnerships better able to serve their vision. They are the Best of Britain”